Official Indian holiday list for 2021
14 minutes read

Official Indian holiday list for 2021

In this post, we will look into the official Indian holiday list for 2021.

As the new year is just a couple of weeks away from us, we all are curious about the holidays to have for the year 2021.

There are public holidays, regional holidays, and religious festivities. Holidays usually differ from one state to another as it depends on what prominent festivals of that region.

The extended break from the workplace has resulted in long working hours for many professionals. So, even weekly holidays have become a distant luxury in this pandemic period.

But don’t let it bring down your holiday spirits, because after all holidays are really meant to be celebrated with your family.

Types of Holidays in India

There are different types of holidays in India, and they are:

  • Public Holiday
  • National Holiday
  • Bank Holiday
  • Restricted Holiday
  • Gazetted Holiday

Public holidays are days when both the public sector and private sector observe the leave. It can be fixed on a certain date every year, or it can be on movable dates every year.

National holidays are holidays that celebrate something notable in the creation of that country such as independence and the signing of the constitution.

Bank holidays are considered as public holidays in a country if that country was once part of the British Empire, for example, India, Sri Lanka. For other countries, it is just a holiday for the banking sector.

Restricted holidays are holidays where an individual can choose a specific number of holidays in a year based on their religious or cultural preferences. The government office, as well as the business, will not have a holiday in general just for some individuals.

Gazetted holidays are mandatory government holidays in a year. It is a holiday for all educational institutions like schools, banks, and businesses.

Official Indian holiday list for 2021

Now let’s see a list of the major holidays in India for 2021.

Date Day Holiday Holiday Type
1 January Friday New Year Restricted Holiday
13 January Wednesday Lohri Restricted Holiday
14 January Thursday Makara Sankranti Restricted Holiday
20 January Wednesday Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
26 January Tuesday Republic Day National holiday
16 February Tuesday Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami Restricted Holiday
19 February Friday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
26 February Friday Hazarat Ali’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
27 February Saturday Guru Ravidas’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
8 March Monday Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
11 March Thursday Maha Shivaratri Restricted Holiday
28 March Sunday Holika Dahan/Dolyatra Restricted Holiday
29 March Monday Holi Gazetted Holiday
2 April Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
13 April Tuesday Chaitra Sukladi/ Gudi Padava/ Ugadi/Cheti Chand/ Vaisakhi/ Vishu Restricted Holiday
14 April Wednesday Mesadi Tamil New Year’s Day Restricted Holiday
15 April Thursday Vaisakhadi (Bengal)/ Bahag Bihu (Assam) Restricted Holiday
21 April Wednesday Rama Navami Gazetted Holiday
25 April Sunday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
1 May Saturday May Day Gazetted Holiday
7 May Friday Jamat-Ul-Vida Restricted Holiday
9 May Sunday Guru Rabindranath’s Birthday Restricted Holiday
13 May Thursday Idul Fitr Gazetted Holiday
26 May Wednesday Buddha Purnima Gazetted Holiday
12 July Monday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
21 July Tuesday Bakrid / Eid al Adha Gazetted Holiday
15 August Sunday Independence Day National holiday
16 August Monday Parsi New Year’s day/ Nauraj Restricted Holiday
19 August Thursday Muharram Gazetted Holiday
21 August Saturday Onam or Thiru Onam Day Restricted Holiday
22 August Sunday Raksha Bandhan Restricted Holiday
30 August Monday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
10 September Friday Ganesh Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
2 October Saturday Gandhi Jayanti National holiday
6 October Wednesday Mahalaya Amavasya Restricted Holiday
12 October Tuesday Dussehra (Maha Saptami) Restricted Holiday
13 October Wednesday Dussehra (Maha Ashtami) Restricted Holiday
14 October Thursday Maha Navami Restricted Holiday
15 October Friday Vijaya Dashami/Dussehra Gazetted Holiday
19 October Tuesday Eid e Milad Gazetted Holiday
20 October Wednesday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
24 October Sunday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth) Restricted Holiday
4 November Thursday Diwali Gazetted Holiday
5 November Friday Deepavali Holiday Restricted Holiday
6 November Saturday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
10 November Wednesday Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja) Restricted Holiday
19 November Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
24 December Friday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
25 December Saturday Christmas Day Gazetted Holiday


Other than 3 national holidays, the holiday list for employees in a private organization may vary according to the organization and its policies.

You can find the state-wise holiday list Here.

With that, we have come to the end of this post. Share your queries with us in the comment section below.

Refer to our blogs:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *